Joint Statement on Public Health Measures Regarding Control of COVID-19 in the Baltic States

Desiring to announce the further co-operation between Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, hereinafter referred to as the Baltic States;

Acknowledging the Memorandum of Understanding between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Latvia and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Lithuania on Lifting Travel Restrictions between Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania for Land, Rail, Air and Maritime Transport and Cooperation thereof during the Covid-19 Crisis, done on 15 May 2020 in Riga,

the Ministry of Social Affairs of the Republic of Estonia, the Ministry of Health of the Republic of Latvia and the Ministry of Health of the Republic of Lithuania,

Have agreed as follows:

- 1. Citizens of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, and persons legally residing in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania (hereinafter Permanent Residents of the Baltic States) are allowed to move freely around the Baltic States with the following requirements:
 - a. the person is not in isolation/quarantine for 14 days due to the COVID-19 infection or contact with the COVID-19 case;
 - b. the person has not visited other countries outside the Baltic States during the previous 14 days (is not applied to Lithuanian Permanent Residents returning from Poland and Estonian Permanent Residents returning from Finland under national exemptions);
 - c. the person has no symptoms of a respiratory infection (fever, cough, shortness of breath) when crossing state border.
- 2. Permanent Residents of the Baltic States may be requested to confirm above mentioned requirements by self-declarations (personal statements) during check-in procedure at ports, airports or other entering point in accordance with the country's policy.
- 3. Permanent Residents of the Baltic States, visiting any of the Baltic States, must comply with the current regulations in the country of visit regarding restrictive and preventive measures of the COVID-19.
- 4. The country of entry might provide an SMS message from a local mobile operator, which contains relevant information about the COVID-19 for persons crossing the border. The competent health authorities of the Baltic States exchange the contents of these SMS messages.
- 5. None of the Baltic States should apply 14-day quarantine and laboratory screening for Permanent Residents of the Baltic States who cross internal borders or use regional flights. These measures can be implemented in relation to those Permanent Residents of the Baltic States who:
 - a. enters the country from another country outside the Baltic States, in accordance with the country's policy;
 - b. seeks medical attention for symptoms of a respiratory infection or if these symptoms are obvious.

- 6. The Baltic States might implement temperature screening and/or self-declaration health status (questionnaires) procedures for Permanent Residents of the Baltic States who cross internal or external borders if the country implements these procedures, in accordance with the country's policy.
- 7. Permanent Residents of the Baltic States entering from any other country have the right to cross any Baltic States territory for transit purpose to enter the country of residence without going through 14-day quarantine and not waiting for the result of laboratory screening (if it was carried out) in the country of entry or in the country of transit.

a. The person who has no COVID-19 or respiratory infection symptoms can travel to the country of residence using any of the following means:

i. an individual vehicle;

ii. public transport with an obligation to use a face mask (this paragraph *in corpore* is not applicable within the territory of Lithuania);

iii. special vehicle provided by the country of residence. The practical implementation and responsibilities of the countries should be discussed and agreed.

b. the national competent authorities of the Baltic States exchange information about Permanent Residents of Baltic State who are not residents of the country of entry entering the Baltic States and traveling to the destination country in the Baltic States without 14-day quarantine in the country of entry. The practical implementation and responsibilities of the countries will be discussed and agreed by the competent authorities.

- 8. Permanent Residents of other countries are strongly advised to travel directly to the country of final destination and when entering any of the Baltic States they must stay in 14 days quarantine in the country of entry.
- 9. Currently, Baltic States apply a 14-day quarantine policy for all persons arriving from other countries with some exceptions for persons arriving from Poland (Lithuania) and from Finland (Estonia). However, Baltic States are going to intend pursuing a common public health policy, which consists in selective approach to international passenger traffic in the nearest future. This selective approach is based on the COVID-19 epidemiological risk assessment in the EU/EEA and other countries.
- 10. The Baltic States may apply exemptions to special categories of travellers entering the Baltic States from other EU and third countries without the 14-days quarantine requirement in accordance with their national procedures. Information on the exemptions will be exchanged between the competent authorities.

This Joint Statement will come into effect on the date of the signature of the Memorandum of Understanding between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Latvia and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Lithuania on Lifting Travel Restrictions between Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania for Land, Rail, Air and Maritime Transport and Cooperation thereof during the Covid-19 Crisis.